MMSST NEWS May 10, 2018


During the past few weeks a  number of MMSST athletes have named as recipients of a number of awards. They include the following:

U19 Weekend Warrior Award

Lachlan Anderson

The U19 Weekend Warrior Award went to Lachlan Anderson. “As a weekend and holiday season skier only, Lachlan has had great success this season. Scoring his best results in all four disciplines in his last FIS series has shown that hard work, dedication and commitment pay off. Driving six plus hours every weekend to join our ski team training and being competitive at this level takes huge effort and a great mindset. Lachlan shows both of these attributes.”

California Challenge Series Overall Awards go to MMSST athletes

Parker Gumins

Mitchell Parsons

This was the first year of the U14 California Challenge Series and it was a great success. Twenty-one girls and 20 boys represented Far West Skiing at the U14 Regional Championships in Jackson Hole based on their results of their best four of six results in the series. The overall California Challenge Series Awards are calculated based on all six results in the series, MMSST’s Parker Gumins was sixth and Mitchell Parsons was ninth.

MHS Ski Team Awards


The Mammoth High School Ski Team coaches Connie Moyer and Jimmy Morning recently announced their year-end award recipients. Plaques were given to the following athletes: Cary Walker and Otto Gubser, Captain; Keely Podosin and Sean Walker, Ski Team Most Valuable Player; Melanie Moyer and Seth Gacho, Most Improved Skier; Hallie Clute and Julian Leeds, Rookie of the Year Skier; Mason Forsythe and Mallory Podosin, Coach’s Award; Ruby Walker, Ski Racer Best Attendance Award; Devon Cole, Most Inspirational Ski Racer; Benny Wolfe, Aidan LaFrancois and Madi Jayne, USSA Freshman Award; and Sloane Ramras, Mallory Podosin, Audrey Sandvigen, Melanie Moyer and Cary Walker, Senior Heart and Sole of the Ski Team.

MHS Snowboard Team Awards


Mammoth High School Snowboard coach, Emma Romo Haisten presented the following awards to her athletes: Snowboard Team Captain and Most Inspirational Player, Kris Martin and Hannah Goodwin; Snowboard Team Most Valuable Player, Nick Hildebrand and Tyler Brooking; Rookie of the Year Snowboarder, Billy McDaniel; Most Improved Snowboarder, Kaidie Brock and Will Hein; Coach’s Award, Dylan VanKampen and Josh Krogstie: Most Motivated Senior Snowboarder, Evan Hilliard; and Snowboard Best Attendance Award, Cayden Wilson.

National award recipients

Mammoth resident and former MMSST coach Chip White was named U.S. Ski and Snowboard’s Alpine International Coach of the Year. Two other Mammoth representatives, Shaun White and Chloe Kim, were named the top U.S. male and female Olympians at an award s show in Washington, D.C., on the eve of the Team USA White House visit. The winners were determined by online fan voting (50 percent) and members of the Olympic and Paralympic family, including journalists (the other 50 percent). Kim, a MMSST alum, was also one of four Olympians named to Time’s 100 Most Influential People in 2018.


MHS Award photos are available for free downloading at:

More News